Tags

, , , , , ,

I obviously love to bake.  But that doesn’t mean you’ll find me making Ice Cream Sammies or Frosted Brownies on the weekdays, for no special occasion other than to be enjoyed by my husband and myself.

Although, he wishes.

I reserve my crazy deep urge to bake for special occasions or for impromptu occasions (like taking to neighbors or friends).  But sometimes I have to indulge my sweet tooth, so I look for healthy alternatives.
DSC_1455While shopping at Whole Foods last week, I was intrigued by one of their taster stations with “raw cherry pie”.  Cherries were on sale and I was contemplating buying them, so I paused.  Then I tasted.  And next thing you know, I had a pound of cherries in my cart, along with a $13 cherry pitter.

I knew I should buy the OXO cherry pitter some place else, like Bed, Bath, and Beyond (where I had coupons) but I had to make this pie RIGHT.NOW.AND.COULD.NOT.WAIT.  And I convinced myself I would be pitting so many cherries in the future, this makes a great investment!

But, all jokes about my full-price pitter aside, it really is a great tool that I hope inspires me to make cherry pies and cobblers ever more.

Back to this pie, though.
DSC_1447With no baking needed, six ingredients (half of which are always in my pantry), and minimal prep time…..this is a gooooood summer treat.  It’s cool, it’s fresh, and it’s healthy.

Raw Cherry Pie, slightly adapted from Whole Foods Market
serves 4-6

1 cup natural almond butter
1 cup crushed pecans
1 pound cherries (I used Ranier)
Honey
Cinnamon
Cumin

In a pie plate, evenly cover the surface with almond butter and pecans, pressing the mix evenly across the bottom to serve as a crust.  I used three smaller dishes, as you’ll see below.
DSC_1440Pit cherries, then place all pitted cherries in a large glass bowl.  Using clean hands, break cherries up by crushing them with your fingers.  I used both hands with fingers wiggling, sort of like if I were breaking up clumps of soil in the garden.
DSC_1448

Your cherries will have released some juice, so go ahead and carefully drain most of that juice out so it does not water down your pie.

Drizzle honey over the cherries, generously.  Add a pinch of cumin, then a heavy layer of cinnamon.  Use your hands again to mix ingredients.  I was very heavy-handed on the cinnamon, so taste and add more as you go along, if you like.

Our contents of cherry mixture onto your crust.
DSC_1451Refrigerate until serving.  I sprinkled a bit of crushed pecans and the slightest pinch of turbinado sugar on top for some texture.

DSC_1454

Hospitably Yours,
Stephanie