Tags

, , , ,

Earlier in the month, I had a spectacular weekend getaway to my most favorite place in the world….Captiva Island, Florida!  I used to be a little possessive of Captiva- it’s not extremely popular and I had a fear of people finding out about it and making it popular.  But that’s a little selfish, right?  It’s so wonderful though, I finally admitted that it NEEDS to be shared!  What’s better than sharing your favorite things with your favorite people?  

This little island has a special place in my heart.  Since I was about 6 years old, my family has vacationed at Captiva every year.  Since I’ve “grown up”, those regular January trips have ended, but I still manage to get to Captiva at least once every couple years. 

If you want a relaxing, therapeutic, calm beach vacation, this is it.  Upon landing at Ft. Myer’s airport and driving to the coast, the real life melts away.  You drive over a large causeway to Sanibel Island, which is a sweet and private island (although bigger and more well-known than Captiva).  Immediately, you’re transported into “island-life” (you know, the one where you convince yourself you really COULD be happy working at the seashell store and not having any malls or Starbucks nearby).  I love the drive through Sanibel, and it’s a great place to vacation as well.  There are endless restaurants, lots of nature trails and hikes, and cute shops.  We had to stop for lunch at the Island Cow on our way….it’s tradition!

This homemade white mango sangria was the perfect welcome drink.Then we crossed the small amount of sea that separates Sanibel from Captiva Island.  Such a narrow and remote island.  Beach on one side of the road and beach houses on the other.  Upon reaching the end of Captiva Island, we made our way to our destination:  South Seas Plantation, a beautiful resort that makes for the best Captiva vacation.

What I love about South Seas is that it’s large and spread out.  There are dozens of different types of accommodations, from small apartments to two story beach houses, and you can stay by the tennis courts, marina, beach, pool, golf course, etc.  Basically, there’s something for everyone.

It’s so safe and inclusive, that it made for an awesome place to vacation as a kid.  Big blue trolleys run regularly and my brothers and I loved riding them on our own down to the ice cream shop at the end of the island.  We were under strict instruction to get ice cream and come right back, and we always obeyed.  We loved the huge pool, as well as the boats and manatees in the marina. 

My favorite things have changed, since I’ve grown.  I now love the quietness and the serenity of this place.  I love drinks at sunset and dinner immediately after.  Check out this sunset-viewing crowd at the Mucky Duck, which is my preferred sunset-viewing location…

I love the seafood!  Wow, is it good.

And I love shelling, for which I used to lack the patience.  Captiva and Sanibel are infamous for shelling.  My mom is a bona fide pro and treasure finder!She was the finder of all these perfect sand dollars.  Gorgeous.

A typical day on this recent getaway went as such:
Ride bikes to coffee or walk the beach in the morning.
Go to the pool.
Lay around and see who can be the laziest.
Eat lunch.
Lazy contest continues.
Start thinking about where to eat dinner – the ONLY decision of the day.
Watch the Captiva sunset, some of the best ones in the world.
Go to dinner and enjoy good food, good drinks, and good times.

Miss these Captiva sunsets already.  I’m already planning the next time I’ll be coming back here; I can’t stay away for long.  If you ever make it down, you’ll see why.  It’s so good, you just won’t be able to help coming back again!

Hospitably Yours,
Stephanie