Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve got to recap my amazing vacation last week in more than one post.  It was so relaxing and refreshing.  Pure fulfillment for my soul and mind.
IMG_5412

First leg of the trip: The North Fork of Long Island.  This is where my camera died and I used my phone to take decent-enough photos.  So that’s your warning on the imagery.

So on Long Island, north of the Hamptons and on the other side of Peconic Bay, where it’s calmer, kitschier, and much quieter (no Taylor Swift), lies the North Fork.  Many little towns up here sprinkle the landscape, with approximately 30 wineries and beach homes aplenty.

The cute kind of beach homes:
IMG_5420That is the beach bungalow that my dear friend Lesley’s family has enjoyed for many years.  Her husband’s grandfather built this place and it’s been a retreat for the family ever since.  It is a pure slice of heaven right on the sand, I tell you!  And Lesley was a great enough friend to invite me out to visit.

This was my view waking up every morning.  Windows open, waves crashing.  Pure bliss.
IMG_5414And this was my view whilst showering…
IMG_5510IMG_5410The outdoor shower was pretty awesome.  And no, I’m not actually taking a foot photo as I shower.  That’s called a reenactment:)

And when you walk the 20 feet to the beach, you see this to your left…
IMG_5416…and this to your right…
IMG_5413…and you’re right here in the midst.
IMG_5432

So, with the background scene set, here’s what happened on vacation:
IMG_5422IMG_5467

Lesley’s quite the planner and trip organizer, which I know from personal experience of 6 weeks traveling Europe together.  But I’ve never been hosted by Lesley.  Surprise!  She’s also an awesome hostess.  I figured as much.

Lesley sent us an awesome agenda the week before, just to remind us when everyone was arriving, and what was scheduled (and not scheduled) for the weekend.  She set expectations, like “there’s one shower” but got us excited, with “…but it’s an outdoor shower!”  She let us know what we would need to pay for and not worry about, and it made the whole trip so easy as a guest.  Which was such a nice gift to guests, from the birthday girl herself.

Lesley also sent thank you notes via Paperless Post the following week to thank everyone, personally, for coming (she somehow selflessly thought she owed us thanks, even though she opened up her home and hosted us for a super amazing beach weekend!).

Two of my favorite parts of the beach weekend can easily be replicated the remainder of my summer (and will be!).  They are easy, fresh Summer Sandwiches and a refreshing summer drink called – appropriately – Bay Juice.

Summer Sandwiches
Crusty french bread, cut into slices
Cheese or herb spread
Thinly sliced cucumbers, tomatoes, and green peppers
Fresh ground pepper

Toast or grill bread slices first.  Spread one slice of bread with cheese or herb spread (cream cheese or mashed avocado are other delicious alternatives).  Layer vegetables on top.  Top with fresh ground pepper.  Enjoy open-faced or add another slice of bread on top for a full sandwich.

Bay Juice, a summer gin cocktail
1 part gin (I prefer Tanqueray)
2 parts Cranberry Ginger Ale (Canada Dry makes this)
fresh raspberries

To make glass-by-glass: Place 4-5 raspberries in the bottom of the glass and muddle (if you don’t have a muddler, the end of a knife will do) berries to release flavor.  Add one part gin and 2 parts ginger ale.  Mix well, then top with ice and a few whole berries for looks.

Cheers!
IMG_5498Next portion of the trip recap:  Wineries and the perfect cheese spread to accompany it.

Hospitably Yours,
Stephanie